Agenda Item: 9.A.

Executive Subcommittee Meeting Minutes October 11, 2011

A meeting of the Papio-Missouri River Natural Resources District's Executive Subcommittee was held at the Natural Resources Center, 8901 South 154th Street, Omaha, NE, on October 11, 2011. The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Tesar at 6:31 p.m.

Quorum Call: Quorum call was taken. The following subcommittee members were in attendance.

Subcommittee Members Present	Subcommittee Members Absent	Other Directors Present	Others in Attendance
Rick Kolowski, Chairperson		Fred Conley	John Winkler
Dave Klug		Gus Erickson	Marlin J. Petermann
John Conley		Dorothy Lanphier	Jean Tait
Rich Tesar		Scott Japp	Jim Becic
		Jim Thompson	Gerry Bowen
			Martin Cleveland
			Amanda Grint
			Trent Heiser
			Lori Laster
			Paul Mullen, MAPA
			Paul Hunt, MAPA
			Paul Peters
			Carey Fry
			Barb Sudrla
			Heather Guthridge
			Jerry Herbster
			Shawn Merlotz

^{*} Absence

Adoption Of Agenda

It was moved by Director Tesar and seconded by Director Klug that agenda be adopted.

Roll call was taken on the motion. The motion carried on a vote of 4-0.

Voting Yea: John Conley, Klug, Kolowski, Tesar

Voting Nay: None Abstaining: None Absent: None

^{**} Alternate Voting Member

<u>Proof Of Publication</u>: Public notice of the meeting was posted at all District offices and published in the Omaha World-Herald on October 6, 2011. The proof of publication affidavit is included with the file copy of these minutes.

Review and Recommendation on 2011 Redistricting of Precinct Boundaries: GM Winkler reported that the District had contracted with the Metropolitan Area Planning Agency to develop alternative election subdistricts to reflect the 2010 census numbers. The purpose of redistricting is to show equal representation in all Districts, striving to keep within the "One Person, One Vote Rule". GM Winkler indicated that the standard for local governments requires that the population of the smallest subdistrict and the population of the largest subdistrict be within 5% of each other.

Paul Hunt and Paul Mullen then addressed the Board. Mr. Hunt noted that the concepts used to develop the 4 scenarios presented to the Subcommittee were: (1) one person – one vote; (2) make subdistricts as compact and contiguous as possible, (3) keep incumbent directors in their current districts and; (4) follow election precinct lines. They then reviewed the 4 scenarios with the Subcommittee. There was discussion.

Director Japp stated for the record that he opposed the Executive Subcommittee handling this item and that he felt it should have been discussed at the Personnel, Legislative and Public Affairs Subcommittee. There was further discussion and questions.

It was moved by Director Tesar and seconded by Director John Conley that the Subcommittee recommend to the Board that scenario 4 of the MAPA redistricting concepts be adopted as the new District Boundaries. The District is required to certify new boundaries and submit to the Douglas and Sarpy County Election Commissions on or before Friday, November 25th, 2011.

Roll call was taken on the motion. The motion carried on a vote of 4-0.

Voting Yea: John Conley, Klug, Kolowski, Tesar

Voting Nay: None Abstaining: None Absent: None

Adjournment: Being no further business, the meeting adjourned by acclamation at 6:55 p.m.

PT/COM/Exet Executive Subcommittee